Third conservation area in Nepal

Manaslu Conservation Area, located in Gorkha district is a protected area in Nepal. It covers an area of 1663 Sq. kms and is the third conservation area in Nepal. Manaslu Conservation Area borders with Annapurna Conservation Area in the west, Tibetan Plateau in north & east. The region houses the eighth highest mountain in the world. The area comprises mountains, glaciers, and watercourses. In elevation, the area ranges from 1,400 to 8,156m at the peak of Mt. Manaslu.

Manaslu Conservation Area is a habitat of numerous species of flora and fauna including the rare ones. As per data, there are 33 species of mammals including snow leopard, musk deer and Himalayan tahr, 110 species of birds, 11 species of butterflies, and 3 species of reptiles. Likewise, the region also boasts diverse vegetation and ecosystem. There are 2000 species of plants, 11 types of forests that ranged from subtropical to alpine, and over 50 species of herbal plants. The conservation area is divided into three terrains; Low Hill, Middle Mountain, and High Mountain. Each of these terrains offers unique forests and related species.

This area offers a classic setting for trekkers. The Manalsu region falls under an unspoiled, tough, and exotic trekking destination, where only handful of trekkers have visited. The region is far away from modernization and is counted as one of the most isolated parts of Nepal. Visitors here will have the opportunity to experience both nature and culture. The major ethnic group are the Gurungs who have strong attachment towards traditional Tibetan Cultural Heritage. With high altitude glacier lakes and majestic Himalayan peaks, the scenery, ranging from terraced green fields to lush forests to rugged high altitude landscapes, is spectacular and quite breathtaking